Photography studio, gallery and training complex

THE CLUB at Fotofilia

We have our own photographic society here at Fotofilia that we call, rather imaginitively, THE CLUB.

THE CLUB was set up to offer what I believe other camera clubs and suchlike don’t (or at least not in my experience). I’ve been a member of 3 camera clubs over the years as I moved around with my work, and I can’t deny I learned a lot from them.

But in some instances, these clubs seemed a bit too male-dominated, and tended to be tied up in archaic committee rules, and with rather too much emphasis on girlie shoots and inter-club competitions for my liking.

So when I set up THE CLUB, I wanted a monthly club where photographers of all levels could be stimulated and inspired by a programme of seminars by visiting speakers as well as access to discounts at Fotofilia and other photography-related businesses.

I’m proud to say I think we’ve achieved this, with a full compliment of 40 members subscribed until October 2011 – we may even offer a second group at some point to accommodate some of the people on our growing waiting list.

From "Still: Dancing" by Richard Battye

Last month, we were visited by Richard Battye, one of the Midlands’ leading photographers, based at Birmingham’s Custard Factory. Richard’s informative and entertaining talk left us all wide-eyed and motivated to push the limits of our comfort zones.

Richard has a real passion for photography that, unusually for a professional with so many years experience, has clearly not become jaded by the need to make images to order. Far from it – Richard is brimming with ideas for even more personal projects.

You can find out more about Richard and his previous/ongoing projects “This is England” and “Still: Dancing” at his blog – http://battyeblog.blogspot.com/

and website… http://www.richardbattye.com/Home.html

As I said, inspirational.

Leave a Reply

