Photography studio, gallery and training complex

When Is A Beer Can Not A Beer Can?

…When it’s a camera, of course!

I, along with a half dozen or so other adventurous souls, chose to annoy our respective families by spending Father’s Day making pinhole cameras under the guidance of the brilliant (and ever-so-slightly bonkers) pinhole maestro Justin Quinnell. Stella Artois tins (sadly not emptied by myself), matchboxes and a couple of 35mm films were appropriated in the name of art.

2nd attempt

What an amazing day! I thoroughly enjoyed myself a-cuttin’ and a-filin’. I am now the proud owner of 2 very low-tech cameras (pics to follow). For now you’ll have to make do with my rubbish efforts at self-portraits using the beer can camera. I’m embarrassed to say my efforts were among the worst in the group.

 You may be interested to know the camera was loaded with black and white 5″ x 7″ photographic paper (a perfect fit! – Thanks to M. Artois!). The shutter was a piece of black insulation tape and after exposure, the paper was developed in the usual way – dev, stop, fix – in the darkroom. When dry, the photograph – a negative image – was scanned and reversed into a positive image in Photoshop. Et voila! Worth all the effort, I’m sure you’ll agree.

I know. I've never looked better.

 My thanks again to Justin for a great day, and to the group who proved themselves worthy of at least a gold Blue Peter badge.

Here’s the appropriate linkage once more… http://www.pinholephotography.org/ and http://www.pinholeday.org/ and http://www.pinholeresource.com/shop/home

PS. Does anyone know where I can get the raw chemicals for the cyanotype and gum bichromate process (potassium dichromate, green ferric ammonium citrate and potassium ferricyanide) in the UK? My usual supplier seems to have gone. Please note I need the actual raw chemicals rather than the much more expensive kits.

2 responses

  1. Ray

    Convert a DSLR into a pinhole camera?

    June 23, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    • Absolutely, you “can”. Plenty of tutorials online about it, and there’s a great series of digital pinhole images in the latest Silvershotz magazine. The analogue way still has a certain charm though.

      June 23, 2011 at 3:14 pm

Leave a Reply

