Photography studio, gallery and training complex

Iconic Images… In Lego

Courtesy of Mike Stimpson

A year or so ago, someone sent me a pastiche of one of Henri Cartier-Bresson‘s most well-known images… in Lego, which I was thought was excellent. Since then, I’ve seen more Lego reconstructions, but it was only when Simon Parry sent me the link to Mike Stimpson‘s website this week that I was able to piece together more information about this highly unusual, but also highly amusing series.

Courtesy of Mike Stimpson (with a little inspiration from Robert Capa)

He has covered many of the most easily recognised images from the history of photography by artists as diverse as Capa and Warhol, as well as iconic images such as the Tiannamen Square protester, the butt-scratching “tennis girl”, the supposed “Bigfoot” emerging from the treeline, the moon landing etc.

Courtesy of Mike Stimpson

Stimpson has even produced a series of Star Wars-inspired images.

Courtesy of Mike Stimpson

Find out/see more at http://www.mikestimpson.com/photography/index.html and http://www.flickr.com/photos/balakov/

PS. I did ask for permission to reproduce these images but I didn’t get a response – so I’m posting them anyway.

4 responses

  1. Andrew Crawford

    if you like those you should check out these done also done with Star Wars lego and other toys.

    http://geektyrant.com/news/2011/10/3/star-wars-toy-photography-is-truly-amazing.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

    October 14, 2011 at 1:19 pm

  2. I’m afraid I didn’t get your email! I always try and response to requests. You can consider permission granted, and thank you for featuring my work 🙂

    October 31, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    • Many thanks Mike! Seems everyone has been talking about your work. As a photographer myself I’m always careful to give credit where its due.

      October 31, 2011 at 1:51 pm

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it
    helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

    May 3, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Leave a Reply

