Photography studio, gallery and training complex

Me, Myself and I

Remarkably, my courses at Birmingham Botanical Gardens are already halfway through the term. For my” Advanced DSLR” group this means it’s time to hand in their first (of two) assignments. I will be showing the work of a couple of my students here over the next couple of months, but to kick things off, I thought you might be interested to see this assignment submission by JK.

It is actually nine individual prints which JK chose to display for the crit in this square arrangement (each image being square anyway). This display format is, I think, key to its “Wow! factor” and while, you can’t really get the full impact of nine large, quality prints here on the blog, you can at least get some impression of how the images work together in this arrangement. But enough from me, here’s what JK says about this assignment submission…

“My initial idea for my project ‘Me, myself and I’ was to produce a series of photos that reflected how people see me, things that make me feel ‘myself’ and how I see my body.
After looking at several different body landscape ideas I was particularly drawn to David Moore’s ‘Landscape nude 1’ 1973. His composition and use of light inspired me to try and produce photographs based on parts of my own body.
After a lot of practice (!) the shots I had taken were quite successful and I looked at how I could link these images to other aspects of myself. I decided to take photographs of some of my favourite things. These images were of things that are, in different ways and for different reasons important to me. These images are cropped in closely like the body images but left in colour. I chose to do this because I wanted the contrast between things that ‘add colour’ in their own way to my life and my black and white ‘stripped back’ body images.
The series of photographs are composed together in a certain way and this is due to the shapes and lines formed in my body photos. The first set show more strong structured angles, my chin and shoulder, I think emulate the lines of the sugar tongs and the edge of the teacup. In the second and third set of photographs the arches of my back and shoulder blades can be seen in the curves of the perfume bottles, the rose petals and the slice of cake.”

Image courtesy of JK

The sheer quality of the work produced by my Advanced group is no longer a major surprise to me, even if it is to the students themselves, but I do remain very impressed and extremely proud.
Thank you JK, for your permission to publish these images.
2 responses

  1. These photos individually are beautiful. As a collective they are stunning. A remarkable exploration of identity and how we ‘add colour’ to define who we are. I look forward to more of JK’s work.

    March 3, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    • Many thanks Kirsty. I think JK will be very thankful for your feedback.

      March 3, 2012 at 11:02 pm

Leave a Reply

