Photography studio, gallery and training complex

Bruce Almighty

If I’m a little bit hard to contact this week, I promise there’s a good reason for it: from Tuesday to Thursday I will be assisting the world-renowned Magnum photographer Bruce Gilden during his intensive photography workshop at the Light House Media Centre in Wolverhampton.

Bruce Gilden: Afraid? Moi?

The workshop coincides with his “A Beautiful Catastrophe” exhibition at Light House which opens this week, beginning with a talk on Monday evening. Sadly, I’m unable to attend this as we have an f2 club meeting that evening, but I’m sure I’ll be spending plenty of time with “Mr. Gilden” in the following three days. The course itself costs £360 per head but is a very rare opportunity to study at the feet of a true master. I understand there are still 2 places available for this course, which has attracted participants from as far away as central Europe. But the group size is still very small, ensuring plenty of feedback and interraction from the man himself.

Image by Bruce Gilden

It’s been suggested by a couple of photographer mates that I might like to take along some running shoes. Gilden is known for his in-close, even confrontational, approach. He says: “I’m known for taking pictures very close, and the older I get, the closer I get.” Gulp.

I’m obviously delighted to have been offered this opportunity and look forward to reporting back once the course has ended. I see this as some welcome “professional development” time – something that I try to squeeze in at least once a year in addition to my own project work.

http://light-house.co.uk/calendar/2012/03/bruce-gilden-photography-workshop/ – more information about the course.

Bruce’s Magnum profile: http://www.magnumphotos.com/C.aspx?VP=XSpecific_MAG.PhotographerDetail_VPage&l1=0&pid=2K7O3R1482X4&nm=Bruce%20Gilden

Image by Bruce Gilden

 

One response

  1. 420stylezz

    like like like.;.tru gangsta sh°t

    May 12, 2012 at 8:51 pm

Leave a Reply

