Photography studio, gallery and training complex

Canal Noir

Taken on iphone4 using Hipstamatic. Note how although this is a monochrome app, the strong colour of Emilie’s hair still comes through.

When you book a model like Emile Walt (as I did on Sunday for this month’s CLUB/f2 shoot), you can be sure of two things: she will arrive on time and ready to shoot, and you will walk away with some images you’ll be proud of.

For Sunday’s shoot I already had the venue planned – the canals of Birmingham (just a few minutes walk from my Jewellery Quarter studio). This meant that if the forecast rain arrived during the shoot, we could carry on beneath the many tunnels and railway arches.

I had asked Emilie to wear something either street/urban or vintage/retro/quirky (knowing that the latter is definitely an Emilie Walt speciality) and she did just that. Her outfit and hair instantly brought to mind the 1940’s, film noir, WWII movies, and dramas about the French Resistance such as “Secret Army”, as well as more modern spy/detective series.

I took along my Nikon DSLR and 50mm f1.4 lens as well as the ubiquitous iphone4. Here’s a shot from the early part of the shoot that I took on my iphone and then gave a slightly “Edwardian” look with the help of Snapseed and Pixlromatic apps…

Taken and edited on an iphone4. Copyright David Rann 2012

Luckily, it didn’t rain, but we stayed close to where we started anyway. In fact, when we did venture a little further along the canal we found ourselves being watched/heckled by a small crowd of early-rising jakies on the bridge above. For a change, I shot much more on the Nikon than the iphone. Something about this shoot and the flat autumn morning light seemed to suit the 50mm.

A Nikon shot. And no, I havent tweaked the colour – that’s Emile.

And another…

And finally, another couple of colour images…

“Leesten veery carefully, I will say zis only once”

Well, I enjoyed myself, and if the feedback is anything to go by (as it usually is), then so did the rest of the group.

3 responses

  1. Lovely images, beautiful model.

    October 2, 2012 at 2:24 pm

  2. Beautiful images. Also, a very intersting blog with many trouvailles, that I would never have found otherwise.

    November 10, 2012 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

