Photography studio, gallery and training complex

Goddess Turns Temptress

Ivory Flame in Goddess mode

You may remember my recent post about the (then) upcoming “Goddess” themed studio day with Ivory Flame, one of the UK’s most beautiful and distinctive models, here at Fotofilia? Well, I think I can speak for everyone who came along when I say it was a wonderful and very productive day.

Holly (Ivory Flame) has been here before, modelling for the Rebecca Parker Masterclass course a year or so back. But this is the first time I have worked with her on a 1-1 basis, and I couldn’t have been happier.

Ivory Flame, with inspiration from religious iconography

The first thing that strikes you when you’re in Holly’s company is how “familiar” she seems, to the point that you think you’ve known her for ever. I haven’t, of course. But I’ve seen her image SO many times in magazines, in portfolios, on the web, on book covers etc, that she just SEEMS familiar.

Known for her trademark red locks and alabaster complexion, Holly has developed a unique stylistic niche – at once angelic, pre-raphaelite, celtic, virginal. classic and timeless – and so the “Goddess” theme fitted her to a tee. However, I wondered of there was something “darker” that I could bring out of her. I know she’s been photographed by many many photographers and in many many different ways but usually the tendency is to play to her ethereal, dreamy qualities. I did some of this too, but I also had other ideas…

Ivory Flame looking a little less angelic

With Holly’s co-operation, we worked on bringing out more of that perhaps under-exploited “temptress” aspect of her personality. By asking Holly to look straight into the lens and to lower her chin slightly, the “look” is, I think, altogether a bit more edgy, and possibly sexier.

One of my personal favourites of Ivory Flame

I’m keen to bring Ivory Flame back to Fotofilia again very soon, possibly early in 2013 and hopefully next time at a weekend. But for now, thank you Holly for a great day.

Here are a few more…

Leave a Reply

